I Forgot My Phone

Not that long ago, I was sitting in the auditorium of my daughter’s school while they were hosting their year end band/music concert.  My daughter was the second group to perform and so fifteen minutes into the two hour long concert, she was done.  I could have left with my family but since we thought that would be rude, we forced ourselves to endure the performances of the kids we didn’t know but watched nonetheless.

However…..when I looked around the brightly lit space, I was horrified.  There were scores of people looking down at their screens.  One person, who sat five chairs down from me so I watched her in my peripheral vision, didn’t look up from her phone for a good twenty minutes.  Now the band kids are looking at sheet music but it was when the choir came up that I was truly embarrassed.  I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to look out over a crowd of people and realize half of them aren’t paying attention to you.

I deliberately had put my phone in my purse and only pulled it out three times to very quickly check the time before returning it to my purse.  I didn’t answer a text, an email, scan my Facebook/twitter feeds, or play my favourite game.  I felt like that would be rude.  Now I’m wondering if it would have been better if those people (who weren’t paying attention anyways) had just gotten up and left.

Which do you think would be less offensive?  To leave?  Or to be present in body but not in mind?

I saw this video last week, connected to what I think is a growing trend.  I wonder what my Digital Literacy class thinks this video means?

Have we become a world where if you forgot your phone you are now the odd one out?

 

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Forgot My Phone

  1. goldenoj says:

    We are the last couple we know that don’t carry cell phones, let alone smart phones. It is amazing how accurately this video is at portraying what it sometimes seems like to us. I just wish people would think about when these powerful tools are making things better and when they’re not. This piece with Sherry Turkle on Bill Moyers gives a bit more to think about: http://billmoyers.com/segment/sherry-turkle-on-being-alone-together/

Leave a Reply

