The Gift

I normally reserve my blog specifically for teacher type posts, but this story was simply too good not to share with anyone who would give me five minutes of their time.

Earlier today I got a phone call from a lovely man who played Santa when I took my girls to see him at the Airdrie Festival of Lights.  My youngest daughter, Leia, who is just four years old had her letter to Santa all sealed up in an envelope in eager anticipation of putting it directly into his hands.  My husband and I weren’t sure what would happen to her letter.

Well the man who took the letter called to apologize for not getting her letter into the mail.  He knew this meant she wouldn’t get a reply so he had typed up a reply himself but had failed to get it into the mail in time for her to get it before Christmas.  I told him not to worry about it.  She’s only four, she doesn’t have any Santa expectations beyond the fact that he will show up on Christmas at some point.

Well…..this wasn’t good enough for him.  He informed me that he intended to drive out himself tonight and hand deliver her letter himself….in his Santa suit no less.  I told him that wasn’t necessary.  A half hour drive out here just to drop off a letter and drive half an hour back home?  And yet he insisted.  Really, there was no other option in his mind.  The whole thing made me weepy.  Just the fact that someone would do something so incredibly special for my child….an utter stranger….had me undone.  I don’t know many people who would go out of their way so close to Christmas to do something so special.  It would have been so easy for him to toss the letter aside and simply say, “Oh well!”  And yet he didn’t.

Well “Santa” just left my house about half an hour ago.  My four year old ripped into her letter very quickly and my eight year old read it to her.  But here’s where the real magic came into play.

My eight year old has struggled with the “Santa” thing for years.  She still won’t sit on his lap and likes to talk to him from a respectable distance.  This year she heard stories from others in her class that there really wasn’t a Santa Claus at all.  The magic was beginning to fade for her.

But tonight her Santa-Believe-O-Meter shot straight up to full power.  She was floored that Santa would come to our house to deliver a letter to her sister.  In fact, she was practically in tears….and not because he didn’t have a letter for her, but just simply that he was HERE….. My child, who had showed practically no interest in Santa all season, was jumping around and excited and giddy and bouncy and FINALLY excited about Christmas.

It remains the topic of conversation downstairs right now as I write this.

There are amazing people out there who still do amazing things.  I had forgotten this.  So while my youngest got her letter and my oldest had her Christmas magic returned to her, it’s really me who got the gift.

My faith in humanity was restored tonight.

Thanks Santa.

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gift

Leave a Reply

