Two Paths

I’ve recently taken up running.  I don’t know why…might be the slightly complex side of my brain that likes to set goals that torture me.  But at any rate, I find the bonus of running is that I think about the craziest things.  Memories locked away just suddenly drift into my mind when I’m running.

The most recent memory I came across while running involves a professor I met at the University of Lethbridge.  I was working in the Conference Services department and there was a Canadian Association of Geographers conference going on.  One of the participants was an older fellow who liked to stop by my office window and chat with me at the end of each day.

He told me something that has always stuck with.  He told me that at the beginning of each semester he always tells his students that there are two paths in life.  The first way is the hard way.

“What’s the second,” he asked me.

“The easy way,” I said, thinking there was probably something more to it then that.  He shook his head at my answer.  “Um, the right way?” I tried again.  Again another head shake.

“Nothing worth doing is ever easy,” he told me.  “There’s the hard way and then there’s the hardest way.  But truth be told, those who are looking for the easy way will likely find themselves taking the hardest route.”

Running sucks…..I’m not a fan.  But I desperately want to be able to run 5 km for the upcoming 5km Summer Solstice run my community has each year.  And it’s anything but easy.  It’s definitely hard.  And I could not do the running homework that is assigned to me when my instructor isn’t around but I suck it up and do it because I know that 5km will be much better with some training.  It would be so easy to drop out altogether, but then I won’t achieve my goal.

Do you have a goal worth achieving?  And what path are you taking to get there?

 

 

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

