Are You Smarter Than A Fifth Grader?

I used to hate the television show because it seemed to make a mockery of the education system.  After all….. they were showing successful doctors, lawyers, physicists losing a trivia competition to ten year olds!

Then I thought about it a little more…..

And decided that really what the show seems to prove is that the facts, knowledge, and trivia that are required to be a successful Grade 5 student seem to have little to no impact or bearing on how successful you will become later in life.  What you learn in Grade 5 can be easily forgotten because beyond that grade, you didn’t need that information for anything other than trivial pursuit or other such games.  Do they ever ask anything that I couldn’t google and find the answer to in exactly thirty seconds?

I used to think that maybe the TV show needed changing.  Now I’m thinking maybe it’s the curriculum that needs changing.

Sure it’s funny to have a company CEO with four degrees say, “I am not smarter than a fifth grader,” once he answers wrong the question about what the world’s largest continent is by population.  Are they embarrassed?  Probably.

What I find more embarrassing is that ten years ago when I first started teaching, I think I put that question on a test.

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

