Day 2

Key learning today….don’t make assumptions!

Last year I’d say 80% of my class had some sort of tech device that hooks up to the internet.  But this year, less than 50% of my class does.  When I asked the question, “Who has a cell phone, iPod, iPad, etc….?” I saw a lot less hands go up than I thought.

Hmmm, might need some revamping on some of my lessons then.  Good things I’m flexible and adaptable.  This year is also the highest percentage of kids that don’t have a computer or internet access at home.

Yet another reason why my “No Homework” policy will fall into line with what I’m doing at school.  Kids can’t complete a tech project at home so there’s not much sense assigning it as homework!

And any ideas I had about the “flipped” class are out the window, not that I subscribe to asking Grade 8’s to do a lot of at home preparation for class anyways.  Here’s to re-thinking, re-vamping, and starting from scratch….again.  But it was an important lessons for me to learn.

Just because we live in a digital world doesn’t mean we all have the same access….yet.

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in 180 Days of Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

