The Power of a Question

I’ve been thinking a great deal lately about the types of questions I ask my students in class.  I’ve also been thinking about test questions vs. critical thinking questions. 

And I’ve come to the conclusion that the only questions really worth answering are the ones that were worth asking in the first place.

Even more powerful are the questions that kids ask themselves, not their teachers.

The Critical Thinking Consortium does wonderful work with students in regards to developing and asking powerful questions.

Here are some links worth a click:

A 1 1/2 minute video of a Grade 5 student explaining the criteria of a powerful question:  http://www.learnalberta.ca/content/ssapq/index.html?Page=16

A video that explains the use of criteria in decision making: http://www.tc2.ca/wp/criteria/

An AMAZING video where Grade 5 students use the powerful questions they came up with to interview the Lt. Govenor of Canada:  http://www.learnalberta.ca/content/ssapq/index.html?Page=32

“The Thinking Teacher” newsletter for the month of May from TC2.  It’s full of critial thinking activities and subscription to the monthly newlsetter is free!  Archives are also available.  http://www.tc2.ca/wp/may-2011/

About Cherra-Lynne Olthof

I've been a middle school teacher for my entire career (which began in 2001). Like my students, I too am a life long learner. My goals include helping my students to achieve their goals, support them in their learning, and to encourage them to think "beyond the grade".
This entry was posted in Critical Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Power of a Question

  1. Pingback: Why Inquiry Based Learning is Not Discovery Learning | Teaching on Purpose

Leave a Reply

